Do you know of an exceptional quilter?

Each year, Expertise Events recognises Australian quilters with three special awards, presented at the AQC Gala Dinner. The awards are designed to acknowledge people who have made an outstanding contribution or achievement in the area of quilting.

Nominations for these awards can be accepted from any individual or group. We encourage you to think about quilters you know and put them forward for one of these awards. Read more about the awards below.

Volunteer Awards

In addition to the 3 awards below, Expertise Events is rewarding Quilt Show volunteers with an AQC Gold Pass for 2019. To nominate for this award, please contact your local state quilt guild. 

Congratulations to our 2018 winners

Rajah Award winner: Julie Haddrick

Lut-Da Award winner: Jan-Maree Ball

These awards are presented by:



  The Rajah Award

This award acknowledges an outstanding contribution to quilting in Australia, whether it be a contribution as a quilting teacher, designer, author, historian, guild worker, retailer, etc or a combination of work in several of these areas. This award is called the ‘Rajah Award’ in tribute to the historic Rajah quilt made by convict women en route to Australia in 1841. Download a RAJAH NOMINATION FORM

  Lut-da Award

This award acknowledges an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to their community through quilting. Their work may have been to assist individuals or groups in need, or to develop programs to assist the general community, and must have utilised the medium of quilting. This award will recognise an individual who has worked for their community, via the medium of quilting. It is called Lut-Da after the aboriginal word meaning “to give”. Download a LUT-DA NOMINATION FORM

  Shining Light Award

We believe it is of paramount importance to encourage our junior quilters. With this aim, we will present an award to recognise achievement by a junior quilter. This award will be known as the ‘Shining Light Award’, and will have a nominee age limit of up to 18 years of age at the time of nomination. Download a SHINING LIGHT NOMINATION FORM

Latest News